A Scary and Important PSA in Which I Offer Only a Little Advice

Posted by Jessica

Okay, I don’t know how I want to say this, or what I want to say about it, but something horrible and serious happened to me on the train last night involving the man sitting next to me.

I think I handled the situation well, in that I got out of there and reported what happened to the authorities, but I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t still pretty freaked out.

It’s really hard to offer advice on what to do to avoid these situations both because I am naive and don’t think they happen that often, and because I’m not sure of how I could have prevented this situation.

But I guess what I’m try to say is, if you’re a woman boomeranger (or maybe just a person who takes the train), PLEASE, for my sake if not your own, be careful.  Be aware of the person next to you.  Don’t sit by the window if you can help it so you can get out if you need to.  Always solicit the help of the people around you, whether they are in uniform or just bystanders.  And employ my time-tested rule: always make a scene.  Most people that have the balls to do this crazy shit are too cowardly to stand there and be berated or caught.

I think that’s all I have to say about it.  Again, I am fine, but I just want to tell you all about it so that it might make some sort of difference.

2 responses to “A Scary and Important PSA in Which I Offer Only a Little Advice

  1. The Powerpuff Girls have nothing on you! Truly you are a superhero.

  2. I hope you’re all right! There are some horrible people out there, but I’m proud you said something! These people should be made to feel like the assholes they are.

Leave a Reply

